Leinster v Munster: Young locks can boost Ireland claims in derby clash

Leinster v Munster: Young locks can boost Ireland claims in derby clash

Event details:

NAME: Leinster Rugby – Munster

DATE: 21 May 2022

TIME: 18:15 UTC

VENUE: RDS, Dublin, Ireland

Leinster v Toulouse live stream: How to watch the Champions Cup semi-final from anywhere

Two rugby powerhouses meet at the Aviva Stadium this afternoon with a place in the European Champions Cup final on the line.

Defending champions Toulouse, who have won the trophy five times, are back in Dublin a week after seeing off Munster in a rare placekicking competition in the quarter-final stage.

Four-times winners Leinster enjoyed a more comfortable victory over Leicester to reach the last four, where they face Toulouse for the fourth time at this stage of the competition.

The French won the first semi-final meeting, but Leinster have won their last two, including a 30-12 victory in 2019.

Leinster welcome Munster for a big provincial derby clash in the United Rugby Championship this weekend. Here’s all you need to know about the game.

Where and when is it on?

Saturday’s match takes place at the Aviva Stadium with a 7.15pm kick-off.

What’s the team news?

Peter O’Mahony has been ruled out of Munster’s trip to Dublin, where they seek the victory required to guarantee a home quarter-final in the United Rugby Championship.

However, Andrew Conway is back in the team for the first time in months while Mike Haley has also been passed fit.

Jack O’Donoghue captains Munster, with four changes to the side that faced Toulouse in the Champions Cup quarter-final.

Thomas Ahern, Andrew Conway, Dan Goggin and John Ryan all come into the side and a positional switch sees Fineen Wycherley move to the back row.

Leinster boss Leo Cullen will be pleased to welcome back Jordan Larmour and Ryan Baird from injury to start and boost his options ahead of next weekend’s Champions Cup final against La Rochelle.

All of the established European fit front-liners are rested as the returning Larmour slots in at full-back with Rob Russell on his right and Rory O’Loughlin on his left

Leinster: Jordan Larmour, Rob Russell, Jamie Osborne, Ciarán Frawley, Rory O’Loughlin, Harry Byrne, Cormac Foley, Ed Byrne (CAPT), Seán Cronin, Thomas Clarkson, Joe McCarthy, Josh Murphy, Ryan Baird, Scott Penny, Max Deegan

Replacements: John McKee, Peter Dooley, Cian Healy, Devin Toner, Alex Soroka, Ben Murphy, David Hawkshaw, Adam Byrne

Munster: Mike Haley, Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Dan Goggin, Keith Earls, Joey Carbery, Conor Murray, Josh Wycherley, Niall Scannell, John Ryan, Jean Kleyn, Thomas Ahern, Fineen Wycherley, Alex Kendellen, Jack O’Donoghue (C)

Replacements: Diarmuid Barron, Jeremy Loughman, Keynan Knox, Jason Jenkins, Jack Daly, Craig Casey, Ben Healy, Rory Scannell