Jahanara returned to the T20 team with the World Cup qualifiers

BCB has announced the 15-member squad for the Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifiers. Pacer Jahanara Alam has returned to the T20 team. He did not qualify for the last Commonwealth Games. Nigar Sultana will lead the team as before.
Fariha Islam and Suraiya Azmin have been left out of the Commonwealth Games qualifiers in Malaysia. Bangladesh girls team failed to qualify. Bangladesh did not play international T20 after that tournament. All-rounder Marufa Akhtar got a new call to the team. He became the highest wicket taker in the last Dhaka Premier League with 23 wickets in 11 matches.

The T20 World Cup qualifiers will be held in the United Arab Emirates from September 18 to 25. Eight teams including Bangladesh will participate in it. The two finalist teams will qualify for the next year’s World Cup in South Africa.

In the tournament, Bangladesh is in the group with Ireland, Scotland and the United States. In the other group are Thailand, Zimbabwe, Papua New Guinea and United Arab Emirates.

Bangladesh became the champion by defeating Thailand in the last match of the World Cup qualifiers. The Niger Sultanate team has got the opportunity to play the qualifiers directly with Thailand. The rest of the teams have come through the regional qualifiers.

Bangladesh always goes as a favorite in the World Cup qualifiers. However, they are winless in the last three matches in the main tournament.

Nigar Sultana (captain), Sharmin Akhtar, Shamima Sultana, Farzana Haque, Rumana Ahmed, Ritu Moni, Lata Mondal, Salma Khatun, Sobhana Mostari, Nahida Akhtar, Murshida Khatun, Jahanara Alam, Fahima Khatoom, Sanjida Akhtar, Marufa Akhtar.